November 4, 2008: 4:51 p.m.

It’s almost six o’clock on the east coast (I’m in Iowa and the central time zone), so it’s time to start watching the news. And to prepare for later tonight, just in case. In the nineteenth century, people celebrated election victories (and bemoaned defeats) in the streets with torchlight parades and lots of noise.

So I’ve rounded up some pots, pans, and lids, and plotted a parade route around my yard. Ya know, just in case. Not, mind you, that I’m assuming anything. Believe me, at that Times “what’s your mood” page, I’m still typing “anxious.”

One thought on “November 4, 2008: 4:51 p.m.

  1. You think you are looking at a late night . . . It is turning Wednesday here in the south of Italy.Incredible interest in the election among Italians in the small town where my cousin lives, a town hard hit by economic woes.Very pro Obama.

COMMENT

